VIA Board Member Glauthier to Co-Chair Commission on U.S. National Laboratories

Press Releases

TJ Glauthier

TJ Glauthier,
VIA Board Member, appointed Co-chair of the Commission on the U.S. National Laboratories

OREM, UT– VIA Motors announced today that VIA board member TJ Glauthier was appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Energy, Dr. Ernest Moniz, to Co-Chair a new Commission on the U.S. National Laboratories. The commission is to conduct a strategic review of the Department of Energy’s 17 national labs. That review will include the National Renewable Energy Lab (NREL), as well as the 10 science labs including Argonne, Oak Ridge, Berkeley, and the nuclear weapons labs.

“VIA congratulates the Secretary on his selection of Mr. Glauthier for this important assignment,” said Weber. “I know he will do the nation a great service,” Weber concluded.

Prior to this appointment, Glauthier was Deputy Secretary and COO of the Department of Energy and served on a Congressional advisory panel to evaluate the structure, governance and effectiveness of the nation’s nuclear weapons program, including those national laboratories.

Dr. Ernest Moniz, Secretary of Energy

Dr. Ernest Moniz, Secretary of Energy

“I have a deep and abiding commitment to this nation’s leadership in clean alternative energy, transportation and basic science,” said Glauthier.

Glauthier continues to serve on VIA’s board of directors.

About VIA Motors
VIA Motors is a privately held electric vehicle development and manufacturing company. VIA employs a streamlined second stage manufacturing process to integrate its proprietary V-DRIVE™ power train into new OEM vehicles, then sells directly to fleets under the VTRUX™ brand name. VIA VTRUX deliver up to 40-mile battery range and unlimited extended range, averaging over 100 mpg in typical daily driving. More information at:

Media contact:
David West
(248) 764-5164